Barolo DOCG


100% Nebbiolo

Bussia 2015


The 2015 vintage began with a winter characterized by frequent snowfalls which assured the accumulation of excellent reserves of ground water in the soil. A spring with mild weather favored an early start to the vegetative cycle, one which lasted the entire year of the growing season. The succeeding phase was distinguished by a climate which, on the whole, was dry and marked by temperatures above historic averages, one which lasted until the end of August. The weather did not influence even minimally the ripening of the crop, thanks as well to the excellent availability of water stored in the ground. The picking of the Nebbiolo for the Barolo Bussia took place between September 26th and October 1st of 2015.

Harvest and Vinification

Grapes were carefully selected, brought to the cellar, destemmed and crushed. Maceration on the skins lasted for approximately 15 days at a maximum temperature of 30 °C (86 °F). Malolactic fermentation was completed before the end of winter. The wine was aged in oak barrels of varying capacities for about 18 months.

Historical Data

Barolo Bussia DOCG comes from the splendid amphitheater-shaped vineyard in the Bussia Monforte d’Alba area. This historic wine was produced for the first time at Prunotto as a single vineyard wine in 1961. The balance and complexity of the Nebbiolo grapes are enhanced by the vineyard’s varied south to southwest exposure and the traditional aging in large barrels.

Tasting Notes

The Barolo Bussia, ruby red in color with garnet highlights, is luminous and vivid in color. The nose is complex and is characterized by floral notes and notes of red fruit.  The palate is intense with a texture of sweet and silky tannins, while the finish and aftertaste are long and balanced.

The most noble and powerful expression of the Nebbiolo variety

The Barolo territory and its production regulations established with DOC (Controlled Designation of Origin for Barolo wines) in 1966 and was granted to DOCG status in 1980 and includes 11 municipalities: Barolo, Monforte d’Alba, Castiglione Falletto, Serralunga d’Alba, La Morra, Grinzane Cavour, Diano d’Alba, Novello, Verduno, Cherasco and Roddi.

Your browser is not supported